Four seasons in the Palace Gardens

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Autumn with great colours

I live close to the Royal Palace in Oslo, and walking to centre of the city takes me through the Royal Palace Gardens. Since I usually carry my camera, I often make stops here because of the nice views around me.

Here are four images that show the four seasons of the year. I like winter the least, since I am not skiing any more. I love spring and the first singing by the blackbird. I do not understand the people who walk around everywhere with earphones listening to music. They miss a lot! I like summer, of course, but I guess autumn is my favourite time. I like wearing a tweed jacket (Harris, of course) and a sweater! The colours are so beautiful.

vinter-2

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Spring flowers

sommer

Summer in the park

4 Comments on “Four seasons in the Palace Gardens

  1. Jeg synes at den engelske oversettelsen av Slottsparken skulle være ‘the Palace Gardens’ siden ‘castle park’ antyder at det er borg der og ikke et slott.

    • Kanskje du har rett. Jeg kaller bygningen for “The Kings Castle”. I Kunnskapsforlagets norsk-engelsk ordbok er Castle og Palace sidestilte ord for slott. Castle er på den andre siden oversatt med borg eller befestet slott. Interessant og takk for innspillet! Jeg lytter imidlertid til deg, og har endret betegnelsen!

      • Takk!

        Det er sandelig lenge siden jeg etterlattet ‘gamlelandet’ og nå bor jeg i Penang hvor jeg må snakke engelsk hver dag. Kanskje du skal også kalle ‘Slottet’ The Royal Palace. Men jeg synes at bildene dine er flotte – spesiellt di med snø siden jeg har ikke sett snø på nesten 50 år.

        Hilsen Erik i Malaysia.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.