Old cameras 2

The Rolleicord was the less expensive version of the more famous Rolleiflex. The Rolleiflex was a very important press photo camera, the Rolleicord aimed more at the amateur photographer. It had a long lifetime, from 1933 to 1976, and the model was refined along the way. While the Rolleiflex had a 2.8 aperture, the Rolleiflex never was faster than 3.5.
It was made in Germany, which was the leading producer of quality cameras for many years.

2 Comments on “Old cameras 2

  1. My mother had an old Rolleflex that she was still using when my sister was born in 1955. She had gotten it when she was a “cub” reporter for the Times Picayune in New Orleans. By the time I became familiar with it, there was slight light that leaked in from one side, giving the photos a very “painterly” effect, like a Vermeer. She got some really beautiful shots with this camera… one I recall was a portrait of my one-year old sister sitting on the baby grand piano as I held her… both in our “twin” red Lantz dresses. (I was 12 or 13 at the time.) Fond memories. Thanks, I LOVE seeing these old cameras… Linda

Leave a Reply

