Shumshu og kattemynte

Jeg fikk endelig plantet på balkongen min, og passet på at jeg ikke kjøpte planter som kunne være farlige for en katt. Det jeg ikke var klar over var at en av plantesortene jeg gikk til anskaffelse av fordi jeg synes de er så vakre, var kattemynte, og det er en plante kattene setter ekstra pris på. Jeg så at Shumshu gjerne ville både lukte og spise av bladene, noe jeg sa han ikke skulle gjøre. Så leste jeg litt mer om planten, og skjønte at dette var en favoritt hos dyrearten. Så nå har min katt fått sin egen “khat”…

Catmint. I got new plants for my balcony the other day, and soon discovered Shumshus interest in one of the plants I had bought. Later on I understood that catmint is a special plant for cats!

6 Comments on “Shumshu og kattemynte

  1. Okay: Nepeta (Nepeta cataria) is a genus of about 250 species of flowering plants in the family Lamiaceae. The members of this group are known as catnip, catswort or catmint because of their effect on cats—the nepetalactone contained in nepeta binds to the olfactory receptors of cats, typically resulting in temporary euphoria. Catmints are also used in herbal medicine for their mild sedative effect on humans. Nepeta cataria also has insect repellent properties.

  2. Beautiful photo of your furry friend… also interesting plant. Wonder if they dry these leaves to make catnip? L

Leave a Reply

